Derek Thorn Is Your 2016 SRL Champion!


Derek Thorn may not have won the battle at "The Bullring" Saturday night in Las Vegas, but he did win the war putting the championship bow on his stand out 2016 campaign. It was Derek's record-tying third SRL title, having won the series championship in 2012 and 2014.
Along the way, Derek also set fast time for a series-record 39th time. His 14.187, on the three-eighths mile paved oval, was also a new track record.

"I'm proud of everyone at Campbell Motorsports for their hard work and determination in helping us achieve our 2016 SRL Southwest Tour Championship!" said Thorn. "It's an honor to drive for Byron Campbell and Carol Patrick Campbell and such a great team. A BIG BIG Thank You goes out to all our Crew, Sponsors, Family, Friends and Fans for all their support and kind words as we cap off our 2016 season."

The SPEARS Southwest Tour Series now heads for its winter break, with the momentum of two consecutive records car counts. The next event will be the 2017 Winter Showdown on February 9-11, 2017.